1 Antietam National Battlefield
( 301-432-5124 ), 831 Dunker Church Road, Sharpsburg | Website | Map
September 17, 1862 was the bloodiest single-day in American history, with nearly 23,000 killed, wounded or missing on both sides combined. Be sure to see the museum gallery in the Visitor Center, which features artifacts that tell the story of the battle, its aftermath and the creation of the area into a memorial landscape. Visitor Center and museum are open daily 9:00 a.m.– 5:00 p.m. Battlefield is open until dusk. Ranger programs are given daily at 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. Memorial Day Ceremony on Monday, May 29th at the National Cemetery at 11:00 a.m. Other events this year include the Salute to Independence on July 1 and the Memorial Illumination on December 2, 2017.

2 Boonsborough Museum of History
( 301-432-6969 ), 113 N. Main Street, Boonsboro | Website | Map
Come see a special display in what many call Washington County’s most eclectic collection! Known as one of the best small museums in the US, with a historical collection that is second to none! Call for Hours of Operation. Special open date of May 21, from 11:00 a.m. –4:30 p.m., in conjunction with the National Pike Festival.

2 Boonsboro Trolley Station Museum
( 301-432-5300 ), Boonsboro Town Hall, 214 North Main Street, Boonsboro, MD | Website | Map
The original trolley station building has been restored and was the Boonsboro Trolley Stations from 1902 to 1938. In its heyday, the trolley ran from Frederick to Middletown, Myersville, Hagerstown, Thurmont, Williamsport, and Boonsboro in MD and to Shady Grove, PA. It is the last remaining trolley station in Washington County. Open to the Public on the 4th Sunday of every month, 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., May through October. And by appointment. Special open date of Sunday, May 21, 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m., in conjunction with the National Pike Festival.

3 Bowles House Visitor Center on the C&O Canal
( 301-739-4200 This phone number is answered Monday–Friday from 8am–4pm), 439 East Main Street, Hancock, MD | Website | Map
Nestled along the towpath at milepost 123 in Hancock, Maryland, the charming Bowles House has seen its share of American history. Originally built in 1785 as a one-story structure on a hill overlooking the Potomac River, the 220-year old home is illustrative of life on the canal and an era long ago. The Bowles House has witnessed early settlement on undeveloped land, a race west between rail and canal, and a period of transition as advancements in transportation eased the country into the twentieth century, making life along the towpath obsolete.

2 Bowman House
( 301-432-5889 ), 323 North Main Street, Boonsboro, MD | Website | Map
Home to the Boonsboro Historical Society, it is typical of the log houses built in Western MD during the first half of the 19th century. There are three interior brick chimneys and much more. John Bowman operated a red-ware pottery business at this location following the Civil War. There is also a wagon barn and a potter’s shed on the site. Open the 4th Sunday of each month from May to October from 2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. and by appointment. Special open date of Sunday, May 21, from 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m., in conjunction with the National Pike Festival.

4 Brown’s Meeting House
( 301-842-1393 ), 11 South Mill Street, Clear Spring, MD | Map
Open Sunday, May 21st, 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. A miniature log village and a miniature furniture collection on display as well as a small exhibit about old-time gardening. Also a small collection of handmade stagecoaches and covered wagons on display honoring the rich history of the National Road. The building is decorated with French & Indian War era art prints and contains a large library focusing on Washington County history and the French & Indian War

5 C&O Canal-Cushwa Basin
( 301-582-0818 ), Williamsport | Website | Map
Staff available to discuss C&O Canal History. Watch the historic 1917 film of the working canal at the Visitor Center and walk the canal. Tours of Cushwa Basin, Lock demonstrations and tours of Lock House 44 may also be available. Open Wednesday through Sunday 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Contact 301-582-0813, Williamsport Visitor Center, for availabilit

6 Children’s Village of Washington County
( 301-733-4443 ), 1546 Mt. Aetna Road, Hagerstown, MD | Map
Themed Open House - Super Hero and Princess Costumes Encouraged. FREE – Rain or Shine. Safety Exhibits, Demonstrations by Law Enforcement and Fire and Rescue Companies, Games and Other Family Activities, Child ID Program. Food and Drinks FOR SALE. Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 11 a.m. to 3 p.m

7 Discovery Station
( 301-790-0076 ), 101 West Washington Stret, Hagerstown | Website | Map
Discovery Station, Inc. is a hands-on museum that provides life-long learning experiences to thousands of children and families each year. We create and environments that stimulates curiosity for discovery, exploration, and further investigation through exhibits and programs that focus on STEAM principles. Special for the Museum Ramble: Open Saturday, May 14th from 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. we will open our doors to the public for free and will be giving away a free family membership as the Museum Ramble Prize.

8 First Hagerstown Hose Company Museum of Firefighting History
( 301-797-0843 301-331-2442), 31 South Potomac St., Hagerstown, MD | Website | Map
Over 200 years of firefighting history for the City of Hagerstown and Washington County. See artifacts showing past and present history of firefighting equipment including hand drawn apparatus, fire attack portable equipment, operating alarm systems, in addition to two motorized fire engines. Enjoyed by young and old alike. Open Friday and Saturday, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

9 Fort Frederick State Park
( 301-842-2155 ), 18 miles west of Hagerstown, one mile south of I-70 (Rt. 56 exit 12), Clear Spring, MD | Website | Map
May 6th – Western Maryland Rail Trail Guided Bike Tour: Enjoy the flora and fauna along the Rail Trail. The tour is approximately 20 miles long round-trip and is taken at a leisurely pace. Meet at 10 am the C&O Bicycle Shop in Hancock, MD. May 14th & 14th: “To Garrison the Fort...” Experience life at the fort during the French and Indian War as members of the recreated Joshua & Alexander Beall’s Maryland Companies garrison the fort. Highlights include musket firing & hearth cooking demonstrations, a uniform and clothing talk and military drills. Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. & Sunday 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Park entrance fees apply. May 27th to 29th – Bring your family and friends to explore the natural side of Fort Frederick State Park. Self- and staff-guided nature and recreation activities for all ages. Bring your bike, binoculars, kayak/canoe and camera! 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. each day. Saturday night stargazing astronomy program. Contact 301-842- 2155 for details. Park entrance fees apply.

10 Gathland State Park
( 301-432-8065 ), 900 Arnoldstown Road, Burkittsville | Website | Map
Visit the newly renovated museums and discover the history of the 1862 Battle of South Mountain and the literary career of George Alfred Townsend. Special displays and talks will reveal Townsend’s role in reporting the Lincoln Assassination and the pursuit of John Wilkes Booth. Park open 8:00 a.m. until sunset and museum open 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

11 Hagerstown Aviation Museum
( 301-733-8717 ), 14235 Oak Spring Road, Hagerstown | Website | Map
Bring the family to the museum’s Open Airplane Afternoon at the Hagerstown Regional Airport and climb into the cockpit of the museum’s Fairchild C-82 and C-119 Flying Boxcars and 1943 Fairchild PT-26 WWII Trainer. See other museum aircraft such as the 1928 Kreider Reisner KR-31 biplane. Flight experiences in the museum’s 1943 Fairchild PT-19 WWII Trainer are available for a $100 donation. All the aircraft were built in Hagerstown! Historical displays and films are located inside the large aircraft. See airport activity up-close; with planes taking off and landing. FREE admission/donations appreciated. Museum merchandise, books, DVDs, hats and T-shirts for sale. All visitors receive a FREE museum aircraft poster. Open Airplane Afternoon is Sunday, May 7 from 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

12 Hagerstown Railroad Museum & Engine 202
( 301-739-8577 x170 ), Hagerstown City Park, 525 Highland Way, Hagerstown, MD | Map
Climb aboard and learn about the golden era of locomotion: explore real caboose cars & steam locomotive engine 202 that once blazed the railroads through Western Maryland. Discover hundreds of artifacts used in servicing trains, the transportation method that earned Hagerstown the nickname: Hub City! Buy one get one free admission of equal or lesser value during the first weekend in May. Submit a visitor slip with your contact information for a chance to win free entry for a family (up to 5 people) to Railroad Heritage Days.

13 Hagerstown Roundhouse Museum
( 301-739-4665 ), 300 S. Burhans Blvd. (US 11), Hagerstown | Website | Map
Railroad Heritage Days Saturday, May 20, 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. and Sunday, May 21, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Admission fee charged. In addition to the museum displays and kids layouts, attractions will include Magician, Moon Bounce, Photo Op Train Cutout and a yard sale. Yard sale will be held Saturday beginning at 10 am and will include model railroad parts, track, buildings, etc.

14 Heart of the Civil War Heritage Area Exhibit & Visitor Center at Newcomer House on Antietam
( 301-432-6402 ), 18422 Shepherdstown Pike, Keedysville, MD | Website | Map
Interpretive exhibits focus on heritage area themes: On the Home Front, In the Heat of Battle, and Beyond the Battlefield, and panels feature sites where these themes may be explored. Brochures, Civil War Trails map guides, county visitor guides and other materials are available. Staff can help visitors tailor their plans for exploring Civil War sites in Carroll, Frederick, and Washington counties. Open each weekend in May, Saturday and Sunday, from 11:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. On May 7, 11:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., there will be a Porch Program at the Newcomer House where visitors of all ages will be invited to play a variety of early American games. Participants will be able to make their own clay marbles to take home!

12 Jonathan Hager House & Museum
( 301-739-8393 ), Hagerstown City Park, 110 Key Street, Hagerstown, MD | Map
Step into the past and explore the fully furnished and restored 18th century homestead fortress of German-born town founder, Jonathan Hager. Buy one get one free admission of equal or lesser value during the first weekend in May. Submit a visitor slip with your contact information to be entered for a chance to win a copy of the book Jonathan Hager—Founder written by Mary Vernon Mish.

15 The Kennedy Farm
( 202-537-8900 ), 2406 Chestnut Grove Road, Sharpsburg | Website | Map
This national historic landmark, completely restored and furnished, was used during the summer and fall of 1859 by John Brown and his “Provisional Army of the United States” as a staging area for their raid on Harpers Ferry. Rarely open to the public! Call for hours of operation.

12 The Mansion House Art Center
( 301-797-2867 ), 501 Highland Way, Hagerstown City Park, Hagerstown, MD | Website | Map
Open: Fri. and Sat. 11:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.; Sun. 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. for Museum Ramble during entire May. VAA participates every weekend during May. Free admission. The Georgian-style Mansion House was built in 1843 of limestone clay baked bricks, dug from wetlands where present day lake is today. Hagerstown City bought property during the 1929 Depression to keep men off the bread-lines. Sky light in roof was placed in center hallway when built by John Heyser-builder. The center has been headquarters for Valley Art Association since 1991. Visitors may view and purchase works from over twenty local artists. In addition to serving as a gallery, the Mansion House offers art classes, workshops, art trips and special exhibits with Meritus Medical Center “ Art In The Hallway”, Maloo’s Rest. At Park Circle, and monthly North Gallery Shows.

7 Miller House
( 301-797-8782 ), 135 W. Washington St., Hagerstown, MD | Website | Map
Miller House Museum is an 1825 brick townhouse that serves as the headquarters of the Washington County Historical Society. Exhibits include period furniture and décor, Bell pottery, dolls, toys, silver, and local artifacts including pieces from the Revolutionary and Civil Wars. Two special exhibits running in May include “The Bill of Rights and You,” a pop-up exhibit from the National Archives celebrating the 225th anniversary of the Bill of Rights, and “Washington County in the Great War: 100 Years Later,” which is a look at Washington County during the First World War. Learn more about what daily life what like for local soldiers and citizens. kinship Family Heritage Research Center specializes in local genealogical research and offers a wide variety of print and digital resources. Genealogist onsite for free consultations every second Saturday from 10 -2. Special activities include games, coloring, and scavenger hunts for kids. Open Tuesday- Saturday 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., museum open Wednesday – Friday 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. and Saturday 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. On street parking available. Call for more information or see our website for more information about special events held during the Ramble.

14 Pry House Field Hospital Museum
( 301-695-1864 800-564-1864), 18906 Shepherdstown Pike (Route 34), Sharpsburg, MD | Website | Map
Exhibits detail the development of the Union Army’s field hospital system, under the direction of Dr. Jonathan Letterman, just before the Battle of Antietam. The house was used by Letterman and General McClellan as their headquarters. President Lincoln also visited mortally wounded Gen. Richardson at the house in October 1862. The large bank barn adjacent to the house was used as an enlisted field hospital. Interpretation includes a 19th century kitchen and medicinal gardens. Open each Saturday and Sunday, 11:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

3 Saint Thomas’ Parish, Hancock
( 301-678-6569 ), 2 E. High Street, Hancock, MD Find Us on Facebook: Saint Thomas’ Parish, Hancock | Map
The original brick Church, believed to have been built between 1789 and 1829, stands to this day and greets all who pass up and down the steep hill known as Church Street. Particularly intriguing to most is the fact that the Church served as a Hospital for Union soldiers during the Civil War. Women from the Congregation and town nursed the wounded within the Nave itself. Thus, St. Thomas’ has a long and proud History of reaching out in Christ’s name to all people, especially those in any need or trouble. Call in advance to arrange for tours.

16 Sharpsburg Historical Society
( 301-992-9767 ), Sharpsburg Town Hall, 106 East Main Street, Sharpsburg | Website | Map
Open Saturday, May 6, 9:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Exhibit of Garnet Jex paintings “The Upper Potomac in the Civil War.”

17 Smithsburg Historical Society
( 301-824-7154 ), 20 East Water Street, Smithsburg | Website | Map
Call for hours of operation.

18 Springfield Barn
( 301-223-5859 ), 12 Springfield Lane, Williamsport | Website | Map
Call for hours of operation.

19 St. Mark’s Episcopal Church, Lappans
( 301-582-1483 ), 18313 Lappans Road, Boonsboro, MD | Website | Map
Built in 1849, the historic church has many stories of historical significance. The history includes connections to the Civil War at nearby Antietam Battlefield and its use as a hospital for the wounded. There are also extensive stories of our African American and slave history, and how we honor it, including a balcony used by slaves that was restored to its original furnishings. Call to arrange for church to be opened, or the tour historic cemetery on your own. Historic markers are on site to share the rich history of the church.

20 Tolson’s Chapel
( 301-582-4718 ), 111 East High Street, Sharpsburg | Website | Map
Take a step back into history when you visit Tolson’s Chapel in Sharpsburg, a log Methodist chapel built in 1866 by the Sharpsburg African American community. The building also doubled as a Freedmen’s Bureau School from 1868–1870 and as the county-run Sharpsburg Colored School until 1899. The church was closed in 1998 after the last congregant passed away. Essentially unchanged from its original appearance, the building has been restored by the Friends of Tolson’s Chapel (FOTC). Tolson’s Chapel will be open for tours on Sunday, May 7, from 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Visitors are welcome to stroll the cemetery grounds and view the outside wayside exhibit anytime, or contact the FOTC to arrange a tour at tolsons.chapel@gmail.com.

7 Washington County Arts Council, Inc.
( 301-791-3132 ), 34 South Potomac Street, Suite 100, Hagerstown | Website | Map
The Washington County Arts Council, Inc. provides a wide variety of programming, technical assistance, funding opportunities, and encouragement to arts organizations and individual artists, developing connections between them and those who desire to have art in their lives. “The Exhibit Galleries” and “The Gallery Shop” at the Washington County Arts Council support local artists’ efforts to make a living though their work while providing the community with a venue for shopping, and a destination for gift giving. Open Tues.–Fri. 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

12 Museum of Fine Arts of Washington County
( 301-739-5727 ), 401 Museum Drive, Hagerstown | Website | Map
One of the nation’s accredited fine arts museums, the Museum of Fine Arts presents art collections from Europe and America including works by Auguste Rodin, French Barbizon artists, Dutch Utopia painters, and artists of the Hudson River School and the Ash Can School. Changing exhibitions complement the nationally recognized art collections. Free admission and parking, Scavenger Hunt for children. Hours of Operation are Monday – Friday 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m., Sunday 1:00 – 5:00 p.m., Closed Mondays.

21 Washington County Rural Heritage Museum
( 240-420-1714 ), 7313 Sharpsburg Pike (MD65), Boonsboro, 7 miles south off I-70, exit 29 | Website | Map
Welcome back to a time when the pace was a bit slower and life centered around the farm, family and community. At the Washington County Rural Heritage Museum, you will learn about our region’s beginnings and history, and how our rural and agricultural heritage continues to play a role in Washington County today. Open every weekend, Saturday and Sunday, 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Visit the museum buildings, village, farmstead and gardens.

22 Williamsport Town Museum, Welcome Center & Art Gallery
( 301-223-5859 ), 2 N. Conococheague Street, Williamsport | Website | Map
Call for hours of operation.

23 Wilson Country Store
( 301-582-4718 ), Route 40 West, just past the Conococheague Creek on Rufus Wilson Road | Website | Map
Wilson Country Store, built in the 1850’s stocks items that you do not frequently see these days. The store sells everything from seed potatoes to liniment salve, as well as an assortment of snacks. Store opens every Wednesday-Saturday, 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.